ALBERTA ENERGY / CONNECTED INTELLIGENCE

Alberta Connected Energy

A source-backed explanation of how Alberta natural gas, electricity generation, industrial demand and shared infrastructure can touch without collapsing different evidence clocks into one live system state.

ANSWER FIRST

What is connected in Alberta’s energy system?

Natural gas supply and transport, electricity generation, industrial demand and project execution can form connected chains. The evidence here shows named relationships and dependencies; it does not establish a project’s operating output, a contracted supply path, a shortage or a causal effect on electricity prices.

WHAT CHANGED

Verified developments and current project context

The page starts with the latest retained evidence for the three monitored Alberta relationships. A dated baseline is not presented as a new live event.

WHAT CHANGED · MILESTONE

The proposed Genesee data-centre load moved into AESO Phase 2 consideration

What happened: Capital Power reported that its proposed Genesee data-centre connection did not receive a high enough Phase 1 allocation and would be considered under AESO's Phase 2 approach.

Why it matters: The proposed campus cannot be treated as operating demand just because a site and a generation fleet exist. The electricity connection process is a separate delivery step that matters for when, and whether, the load could operate.

How it connects: The relationship is between a proponent-reported large-load proposal and the AESO connection process. It is not a claim that AESO approved the project or that the site is serving a data centre today.

What we do not know yet: The reviewed sources do not establish a final allocation, executed connection agreement, construction start or operating load. The proposed capacity and timing remain project statements rather than current AESO telemetry.

What to watch next: A project-specific AESO allocation or connection decision. A construction or commissioning record. A named customer or executed commercial arrangement.

Event/source date: 2025-12-01 · source published 2025-12-01 · Proposed Genesee Data Centre Project Update · Large Load Projects — connection process · AI Data Centres in Alberta — Grid

WHAT CHANGED · SOURCE REVIEW

Alto's public project description links proposed compute load with dedicated gas generation

What happened: The reviewed prospectus describes three Northern Alberta AI-ready campuses with proposed dedicated natural-gas generation alongside an initial 220 MW of critical information-technology capacity.

Why it matters: A large industrial project may involve both gas supply and electricity infrastructure. Seeing those as separate dependencies helps readers avoid mistaking a proposed self-supply design for current Alberta generation or gas demand.

How it connects: The source-stated project configuration connects proposed gas-fired generation to a proposed compute load. Alberta's public large-load material supplies provincial process context, not proof of this project's fuel or grid arrangements.

What we do not know yet: The prospectus does not establish construction, commissioning, fuel deliveries, an executed gas contract or operating output. The proposed load is not an observed Alberta electricity demand measurement.

What to watch next: A generation permit or construction milestone. An AESO connection or allocation decision. A project-specific gas supply or transportation agreement.

Event/source date: 2026-09-14 · source published 2026-09-11 · Canada Investment Summit Prospectus · AI Data Centres in Alberta — Power bills · AI Data Centres in Alberta — Grid

WHAT CHANGED · STATUS RETAINED

Northern Lights remains a source-described shovel-ready LNG proposal, not an operating facility

What happened: The reviewed prospectus describes Northern Lights as a shovel-ready Alberta small-scale LNG facility and says land, engineering, zoning, subdivision and required permits are in place. Statistics Canada and the CER provide separate provincial gas-production and NGTL-system context.

Why it matters: An LNG project needs feedstock, transport and customers in addition to a plant description. That context shows the dependency chain without pretending that provincial gas or a pipeline observation is a project contract.

How it connects: The named connection is a value-chain interpretation: a proposed LNG facility would need gas supply and transport context. The prospectus reports secured gas supply, but the reviewed evidence does not identify an executed contract, a specific NGTL path or a regulator-issued permit record.

What we do not know yet: The prospectus does not provide permit identifiers, issuing authorities, permit scope or independent confirmation that every stated authorization remains valid. No reviewed source establishes operating production, an executed transportation agreement or current project throughput. Provincial and system-level observations cannot be assigned to this project.

What to watch next: A project-specific feedstock or transportation agreement. Construction or commissioning evidence. Later CER observations with compatible key point, direction and unit definitions.

Event/source date: 2026-09-14 · source published 2026-09-11 · Canada Investment Summit Prospectus · Monthly supply and disposition of natural gas · NGTL System pipeline profile

PERIODIC CONTEXT

Different clocks answer different questions

Statistics Canada reports 10,373,939 thousand m³ of Alberta marketable gas for 2026-06. The Oil & Gas projection reports 97.2% throughput against capacity at CER’s East Gate point on 2026-06-30. These are monthly and point-in-time context, not current gas delivery to any named project.

Statistics Canada table 25-10-0086-01 · CER throughput and capacity dataset

FIVE QUESTIONS

What should a reader ask?

  • Natural gas → electricity: How can gas supply and gas-fired generation appear in the same energy story?
  • Industrial load → grid access: What has to happen before a large new electricity user can connect?
  • Processing → power and infrastructure: Where do energy-processing projects depend on more than one infrastructure system?
  • Cogeneration ↔ the grid: How can an industrial site use its own generation and still relate to the grid?
  • Shared execution capability: Which engineering, construction and infrastructure capabilities recur across systems?
SUPPORTED INTERPRETATION

Northern Lights sits in a gas supply and transport chain

Project status: Shovel-ready / proponent-described · The reviewed prospectus reports permits obtained, but no permit identifier, issuing authority or scope was independently verified.

Connection: Project Northern Lights → Natural gas supply and transport. These records support an energy-chain explanation: a proposed Alberta LNG facility needs gas feedstock and transport context. They do not establish a Northern Lights supply contract, a specific NGTL route, or that the East Gate ratio measures this project.

Why it matters: Albertans can see why a processing project cannot be understood from its plant description alone: feedstock, transport, customers and project execution all matter.

Uncertainty: The project source does not identify a contracted supplier, contracted pipeline path or operating production. The Statistics Canada and CER observations describe provincial and system context, not project allocation or project-level throughput. The project remains source-described; this page does not turn a proponent's shovel-ready or permit statement into operating status.

Watch next: A project-specific feedstock or transportation agreement. Construction or commissioning evidence for Northern Lights. Later CER records with the same key point, direction, trade type and unit.

Observed scope: Project record observed 2026-09-14; gas production coverage through 2026-06; CER profile accessed 2026-09-24 · Canada Investment Summit Prospectus · Monthly supply and disposition of natural gas · NGTL System pipeline profile

SUPPORTED INTERPRETATION

Alto describes dedicated gas generation alongside new compute load

Project status: not stated

Connection: Natural gas supply → Alto Northern Alberta Projects 1, 2, 3. The sources support a documented project configuration in which gas generation is described as part of the proposed power arrangement for a large industrial load. They do not establish that the plants are operating, that the stated capacity is committed, or that the project has a particular gas supply contract.

Why it matters: New industrial electricity demand can create a gas-and-power story at the project level. Understanding that connection helps readers separate a proposed self-supply design from current Alberta generation or current gas demand.

Uncertainty: The project information is proponent-submitted prospectus material. The record does not establish construction, commissioning, fuel deliveries or operating output. A project description is not evidence that the provincial grid will serve the full proposed load.

Watch next: A named generation permit, construction milestone or operating record. An AESO connection or allocation decision. A project-specific gas supply or transportation agreement.

Observed scope: Project record observed 2026-09-14; Alberta government context accessed 2026-09-24 · Canada Investment Summit Prospectus · AI Data Centres in Alberta — Power bills · AI Data Centres in Alberta — Grid

SOURCE STATED

Genesee links generation expansion to a large-load connection path

Project status: not stated

Connection: Genesee Energy Campus → Alberta large-load grid connection process. The evidence establishes a connection dependency: the proposed campus is not just a site or capacity statement; its electricity path includes the AESO process. It does not establish a final interconnection, customer commitment, construction start or future grid outcome.

Why it matters: For Albertans, the important question is not only how much a proposed campus might use. It is also whether generation, transmission studies, allocation and commercial commitments converge before the project can operate.

Uncertainty: Capital Power's update is a proponent statement about a proposed project. AESO process material does not make a project-specific approval claim for Genesee. The proposed capacity and timing are not current operating measurements.

Watch next: An AESO allocation or connection decision for the project. Project-specific design, permit or construction evidence. A named customer or executed commercial arrangement.

Observed scope: Capital Power update published 2025-12-01; AESO process observed 2026-09-16; Alberta grid context published 2026-07-30 · Proposed Genesee Data Centre Project Update · Genesee Generating Station — site and development context · Large Load Projects — connection process · AI Data Centres in Alberta — Grid

BOUNDARY

What this page does not claim

A project description is not an operating record. Geographic proximity is not proof of a physical connection. Provincial production and pipeline observations are not project-level contracts or allocations. BuildAtlas promotes a public connection only when the named evidence and its limits are visible.

GO DEEPER

Where to inspect the underlying records

Use Oil & Gas for monthly production, bounded AER activity and CER transport context. Use Power, Research and Power Atlas for AESO observations, electricity evidence and spatial context. The connected view is a map of supported relationships between those records, not a replacement for either vertical.

INDEPENDENCE

How to read this page

BuildAtlas is independent of the regulators, operators and project proponents named here. A connection is published only with an evidence boundary; inclusion is not endorsement, approval or a prediction of delivery.

BuildAtlas separates public-source facts, reported statements, and its own clearly labelled interpretation. See the methodology for how to read the evidence.